James Beard Award Nominees Announced

Congratulations to all the 2006 James Beard Foundation Award nominees, including local favorites Michael Leviton of Lumière, Marc Orfaly of Pigalle and Frank McClelland of L’Espalier. Chefs Mark Gaier and Clark Frasier, the masterminds behind Ogunquit, Maine’s supremely popular Arrows, and Jean Louis Gerin of Jean Louis in Greenwich, Connecticut round out the list for the Best Chef Northeast category. The lucky (and talented) winner will join the ranks of Boston-based Beard Award winners like Todd English, Gordon Hamersley, Jody Adams, Lydia Shire, Barbara Lynch, Ana Sortun, Ken Oringer and Michael Schlow. This years’ Awards Ceremony, which will take place on Monday, May 8th at the Beard House in Greenwich Village, celebrates the culinary legacy of New Orleans. Reservations can be made by calling 212.367.9490. Admission is $375 per person ($325 for James Beard Foundation members/$120 for students). A portion of the admission price will be donated to a charitable fund established to support the rebuilding of New Orleans’ restaurant community. For a full list of this year’s nominees, visit the Beard House’s website.

You may also be interested in